“I will love him, and hug him and call him George.” – Lenny from Of Mice and Men.

In our house however, everything is named Bob. Bob has come to us in every form imaginable and even the unbelievable. Bob has been a rock, quite a few fish, grasshoppers, lightning bugs, the groundhog that lives in our yard, a bubble (yup while blowing bubbles any bubble that lasted more than two minutes were aptly named), balloons and of course various stick figures drawn and stuck to the fridge. Every time “Bob” dies we have chaos. The grief and sometimes overly dramatic grief grabs the attention of everyone who has the misfortune of being at home in that moment.

My darling Molli A, who has just moved back into our household has recently suffered the most common grief … her dear mom passed in April after a battle with Lung Cancer. The grief she feels is much more than I can comprehend. I still have both parents alive and well and living close.

My time of staying home to write has come to an end. Yesterday was the first day at my new part time job. I am feeling a little grief that what I love to do isn’t enough to pay the bills so I can be here full time for my children. Last week there were major changes at my husband’s job which changed him from an overnight shift to working days. Now that is two BIG changes for our children. They are used to mom and dad being there during the day even if dad sleeps part of it and now dad is gone four days a week for about ten hours and mom will be popping back and forth between work and home different hours each day. My youngest is having the biggest issue with adjustment but our Molli A is over the moon upset about everything.

As I mentioned earlier Molli A has moved back into our household along with her dad (my brother-in-law), his ex wife just moved many miles from us taking their two sons. This is having a heavy impact on our entire household since our families are close.

So like Lenny and his pal George we are making the best of every situation. We are getting back up to fight the tide every time it knocks us down but we will turn the Great Depression into the best time possible!

Until next time – keep your chin up and let the world know. “Every time you knock me down, I will get back up and yell – No, I’m not finished yet!”

One thought on “Lessons learned from literature!

  1. LIke your post very much. I’m confused though. Who are all the people who’ve moved back in? You sound very compassionate. Good luck with your job. God bless.(BYW, How did you get the images on right side of page to show up. I’ve tried everything. Any help you can give me would be appreciated. You can e-mail me: foxrap@aol.com)

Leave a comment