Take a deep breath and soak in your natural surroundings. Tifft Nature Preserve just after a spring rain brings a scent that just cannot be duplicated in a candle. The wind slowly bending through the rain soaked branches and bushes. Trails layered with wet leaves of years gone by. Ducks and thier babies, the far off honk of geese flying in, the croak of a frog and the song of several breeds of birds making a home in the trees.

It never fails… we follow our favorite trails not used by many. Sometimes we go early enough to walk trails still covered in snow. This year winter wasn’t so nice to our favorite trail. Downed trees build an obstacle course of overs and unders while the branches tear my hair from my ponytail. Spring rains have been abundant and have allowed the marsh to invade the trail creating ankle deep wading areas as well as mud so thick it threatens to steal my sneakers.

I Love these adventures my husband and I find ourselves on. It reminds us that we should still live the lives we have left no matter our current age or heath condition.

Leave a comment