On this slightly overcast 70 degree morning the fresh lake breeze mingled with the aroma of Cheerios toasting at nearby General Mills and we walked.

We walked to raise awareness and money.

We walked with super heroes.

We walked while others ran and still others rolled for the Make lemon aid foundation for CP.

The Make Lemon Aid Foundation for CP was founded by Lauren; a young woman living with CP. CP is short for Cerebral Palsey; a medical condition that affects a person’s ability to move and control their body. It is caused by a brain injury or an abnormal development usually while the brain is still developing before or shortly after childbirth.

Most importantly we walked with Madisen.

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure to meet Madisen; who would change my husband’s perspective on life. We spent the day walking the trails at Losson Park. We fed some birds, squirrels and chipmunks. Mike and Madisen even pet a chipmunk. Throughout the day despite the struggles in her day to day life she laughed, she played, she changed my husband’s middle name to butthead.
My husband has had some medical changes of his own recently which left him in a deep depression and wondering if his life was still worth the air he breathed. This is what he had to say about Madisen:

“I don’t even know where to begin…. I’ve been struggling hard for a while now, trying to come to terms with my current situation, and getting worse with every passing week. Tangles, leaks, stress… feels like a constant ball an chain that I can never get rid of, a constant weight that is forever holding me down. And this past Friday, it really hit me, it took away a part of my job that I love to do. I really thought that was going to break me! It should have broken me… I should’ve snapped… but I held it together with everything I had in me! (Which wasn’t much to start)
And then, I met Madisen. A very special little 8 yr old girl with apple blossoms in her hair, the most beautiful blue eyes you have ever seen, and a smile as big as the sky!! You see, Madisen has CP (amongst other things) but that doesn’t stop her. In fact nothing stops her. Her will power, drive and determination makes this amazing little girl strive! She doesn’t know “Different”, to her, we’re the different ones. Everything in her life is normal to her. This little girl strives for one thing, to keep moving forward, to keep going after every day with the biggest intentions that she can do anything she wants!! And you know what, she can! Even if it is with a little help from friends. I had a small glimpse of what she has to endure, and let me tell you, there’s a lot that goes on, and it doesn’t stop or slow her down! We had an amazing time at the park, we talked, played, fed chipmonks (let me add, was a first for both of us..lol). Even petted a few, and we laughed… omg did we laugh… we laughed so much, we were turning red…lol. She’s not different, WE are! She showed me what its like to strive for, to push, and most of all, just enjoy life, to its fullest!! We all have bad days, that’s a given. But u get back up, and carry on, like nothing happened. She has taught me so much in just the short time we were together, and I will never forget her smile, and her lust for life! Just because we’re (me and her, and so many others in different ways) different, doesn’t make us any more “less” normal, we just learn to deal and push thru it. Like nothing is even wrong.
So from the bottom of my ❤️, Thank You Madisen!! You are truly my inspiration! Keep your head up, eyes bright, and never let that smile fade!
(From yr Butthead friend, Michael)…(P.S. I promise we will still feed the birds!!).

Thank you!! 💜”

You see? Madisen will be a Woman of Strength because she is being raised by a Woman of Strength. As Luke Bryan sings, ” And most mamas oughta qualify for sainthood” Tiffany definitly does.

Also very important, we walked with Tiffany.
Tiffany is Madisen’s mom and was brought into our lives by God. Last summer Mike answered a Facebook ad for hard wood to use in his smoker. Little did they know at the time they both were fighting bladder cancer. There were so many simularities in thier lives they instantly connected. Not only does Tiffany take care of herself through her own illness but she walks side by side with her precious Madisen in her daily struggles. Then she finds time to inspire others including my Mike when he is struggling as well.

To two true Women of Strength thank you for everything. We will continue to walk with and support both of you.

Leave a comment